D-Morning

27 Oct

I got almost 7 hours of sleep! Granted, not all at once and I did have to get up four times to use the restroom but 7 hours! How bizarre is it that last night of all nights I would manage to sleep past 5 AM?

It’s 9:20 AM and we have the OB appt at 3 then I’ll know more. We managed to finish pretty much everything yesterday so we’re just sitting around having coffee and a slow morning. I’m amazed we got our freezer door to shut after the Fred Meyer run we did yesterday. We definitely have enough food for at least a week or two.

Little man is squirming about and still seems to have no intention of coming out. He was quiet most of yesterday but has been pretty active this morning.

I see Wendy has linked here so hi to anyone who wanders over. Any sage pieces of advice for coping with the first week or two of having a newborn? Leave them in the comments. It’s beginning to sink in that they’re going to hand me a BABY tomorrow and you know? I really don’t know what to do with a baby.

3 Responses to “D-Morning”

  1. Carrie October 27, 2008 at 10:17 am #

    I would suggest writing down the times he eats, how many minutes per side, when he poops, etc. for the first little while so you can look back and see if he’s developing any kind of routine. Also, if he has his days and nights mixed up once you get home, try putting a floor lamp over his bed at night to trick him into thinking it’s daytime. My pediatrician says they typically sleep more during the day because the light is hard on their eyes, then at night when it’s all dark and cozy they want to check out their surroundings (and yell at their parents just to make sure you’re paying attention).

    And most importantly, this is YOUR baby, whom will be unlike anyone else’s baby, so things that work for others might not work for you. I guess my point is this: feel free to ignore any advice people give you that doesn’t fit your situation, including mine!

    I love you guys and I couldn’t be more excited for you! I can’t wait to see pictures of the little guy!!

  2. Mom October 27, 2008 at 11:03 am #

    Love & patience–luckily for you I’ve forgotten everything else

  3. Betsy November 1, 2008 at 8:49 am #

    Just keep in mind that it WILL get easier. One day, you WILL sleep again. Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

