Flexibility

9 Nov

Elliott giveth (the sleep) and Elliott taketh away (the sleep). I’m hesitant to even mention anything about the sleep because last night went so well (jinx!). I’m learning that saying “Hey, X is going great!” inevitably means that X will no doubt stop being great and instead end up kicking me in the butt. Two nights ago, he slept through most of the night, only waking at 1:30 to eat then again around 4:30. That worked quite nicely because Andy got up for work at 5 AM so we just stayed up with him until he left at 6:15. Seeing Daddy off to work Then Eli did me the favor of falling back asleep until 10:15 AM and I got a nice nap in there as well. He was an alert and happy baby for most of Friday until around 3:30 in the afternoon when he decided to take the nap without end. He was drowsy most of Friday night after the monster nap and difficult to fully wake up other than to eat. We didn’t make much of an effort to wake him up. Mistake! He rewarded me by being a happy and alert baby at 2, 3, 4, 6, 9 and 10:30 AM.

He seemed to be fighting sleep for a lot of yesterday and in hopes of decent sleep (for myself) last night, I let him. He did take a 3 hour nap at 3:30 and when Andy came home from work, Operation Harass the Baby was in full swing. We bugged him, we fed him, we played with him (as much as one can play with a 10 day old) and generally annoyed him until bedtime. At least for last night, it worked. He only woke up at 2:30 to eat then again at 5:45. Around 7:30 he fell asleep and slept straight through until 11. I pretty much slept the same hours he did. What a good boy! It does mean that stage 2 of Operation Harass Baby (OHB) is in effect for tonight. No sleep for Elliott until it’s time to go to bed.

We have a ped appt tomorrow but I’m confident that he’ll top out his birth weight. I’m not sure by how much but the kid’s cheeks are looking positively chubby these days. I feel like this is some sort of achievement on our behalf, like, we fed the kid! Go us! It is so difficult to feed a kid and we fed him! Nobody feeds like we do! Seriously, I feel victorious when they announce he’s getting bigger. I need to watch this before Eli develops a serious eating problem.

The doc finally prescribed some Gentamicin for his goopy eyes and wow, what a difference! Instead of being one eye goobery crusty kid, he’s downright dapper. His eyes are clear and he’s happier because I’m not constantly cleaning them and poking at him. I don’t know if the goop ever bothered him quite as much as I did. I tried to hold off on the frequent cleaning because I didn’t want to irritate his skin but man, that stuff was gross.

Right now, Elliott is hanging out on the bed and enjoying his pacifier. Evil Hand continues to smack the pacifier out of his mouth every few minutes which causes Eli great distress. He’s starting to nod off a bit. I really hope he decides to take a nap because I have a friend visiting at 2 and it would be REALLY nice if I could swing a shower before she comes over.

Ok, now it’s about 8 hours later. I wrote one post and thought I posted it but it apparently got eaten. My laptop won’t default to my own router even though I have it set to do so and so every once in a while it’ll kick me to some other wifi which will then time out. Which I think is where my entry went. Grrr.

I did manage a shower and my friend was kind enough to bring over a bacon and cheese quiche (it was really tasty, T!). The quiche was a particularly nice gesture because she doesn’t eat bacon, doesn’t even LIKE bacon and I think she actually might be a little grossed out by bacon (I know, I don’t know what’s wrong with her either). So just the fact that she was willing to handle it in order to make a nice meal for me was pretty sweet. And it was really good and very appreciated! All I had for lunch was leftover salad so it was definitely good timing.

How are we liking the new holiday theme? The green layout was bugging me for some reason and I wanted a change of pace. Opinions? They have some that have customizable headers and I’m hoping to have a chance to make one during Andy’s time off. We’re also going to work on getting some good photographs of him for his birth announcements. Hopefully we’ll have those out in the next week or two.

The last three days have been really great. Although I have had moments of going stir crazy, it really has helped me get over my baby fear. I think the first few days (ok, week) I was almost afraid of the kid–afraid of making him upset, making him cry, not knowing what he needed, etc. Now it’s pretty nice that I’ve got my feet underneath me and I can read him to some extent and know what he wants. I’m also not afraid of upsetting him because I know that it’s for good reason (hello, your diaper STINKS, kid) and he’ll be consoled quickly afterward. I’m not sure if I would have had this opportunity to develop a feel for the kid if Andy had stayed home with me because I would have fallen back on him a good bit, as I had done while he was off. It helps that Elliott is just a dream and certainly makes things easier on me while I learn.

Yay! Andy is off Tuesday through Thursday this week! I get a break! Tomorrow night June and I are going out to eat and wow, I am seriously looking forward to it. I haven’t really been out of the house much since Elliott was born and really didn’t get out much the week or two before that either. So this will be a really sweet break for me. I can’t wait!

3 Responses to “Flexibility”

  1. Lolly & Pop November 10, 2008 at 6:46 am #

    Very impressed with your “crafty” holiday theme. The first week is trial by fire and all seemed to be thriving!
    Love ya bunches

  2. Betsy November 11, 2008 at 8:11 pm #

    Oh, my! The evil hand stuff absolutely cracks me up – give us more, give us more! Seriously, though…it’s great to hear that things are going so well for you and the little guy. I love reading up on your adventures!

  3. Sue November 13, 2008 at 8:37 am #

    What fun to hear his first vocalizing efforts! He will be talking before you know it. I love looking you guys up every morning to see how things are going. If there is no new post, I just watch him coo again!
    Love you all…

Leave a Reply

