Monday, Monday

17 Nov

It’s Monday. I’ve slept about 5-6 hours, I think? Not all at once (2 hours and change, 2 hours and change, 1 hour and a little extra) and my coffee is NOT kicking in very quickly. I feel a little slow and mentally sluggish. This morning I was lamenting the loss of hot coffee as I never seem to be able to actually start and finish a cup while it’s still hot and it occurred to me that I should just use my travel mugs instead. They keep coffee hot all the way to work, why not use them here? It’s a little sad that it took me that long to think of it.

I took Elliott over to June’s yesterday both as a way to get out of the house for several hours and to sort of test the cat allergy. He did great the entire time we were there (about 4 hours, she has 2 cats). No problems, no sneezing, no watery eyes, etc. He was fine the rest of the night at home. However, he woke up about 2 AM (little legs exposed because he kicked off a swaddle, pushed his sleep sack up around his thighs, and lost a sock) and when I picked him up to feed him, he sounded congested. Right after he was born, he sounded really congested and snorty and he sounds like that again. It seems better this morning (he’s still snorty but less so) but I’m wondering if it’s related to the cats? I really hope not as the friend who will be watching Elliott when I go back to work also has cats and that would be a Problem. He doesn’t seem to have any sort of cold or anything like that, he’s just snorty. It doesn’t seem to bother him at all. Thoughts?  Could it be the cats?

As much as Eli will allow, we’ve developed some semblance of a routine.  About the most consistent part is that he tends to take a long nap around 3:30 or 4 then gets up about 6:30 or 7.  He usually goes down for the night (ha. HA.) around 11 or so.  Most nights Andy reads to us and Eli and I both fall asleep in the bed then Andy puts him in his pack n’ play before he goes to sleep.   Eli sleeps the first two shifts in his pack n’ play until about 6 in the morning.  Then he wakes up for an hour or so, eats, and I usually plunk him down on the far side of the bed with me (I’m paranoid about rolling over on him but the bed is large enough so that I feel safe if he’s on the other side) for another few hours.  He wasn’t digging sleeping on the bed this morning so I gave up on sleep and put him in the car seat while I took a quick shower and now he’s out cold.  Perhaps the incline of the car seat is helping with the snorty factor.  I’m hoping I can get a nap at some point today because I’m feeling pretty tired myself!

All in all, he’s just a great baby.  He’s talkative and content to amuse himself for periods if left alone.  He does seem to be a little more cranky in the evenings but it seems more that he wants a lot of interaction, not that he’s uncomfortable or just cranky for cranky’s sake.  He’s the best snuggler in the world and seems to like everyone–he doesn’t seem to mind who is holding him which is great.  Will’s starting to interact a little more with him and even held him for a while the other day.  It was pretty cute stuff because Will was talking to him and making faces and Eli was just entranced by his big brother.

Well, I better get moving.  They’re coming today to clean out the dryer vents and I should probably eat something before Elliott decides to wake up again.  I’m meeting friends after work for drinks since it’s my day for a break today once Andy is off work.  He has band practice once a week so I get to get an evening once a week as well to get out.  It really works well and it’s nice to have a small break.  My parents come in town Wednesday and Andy and I are planning a date night out for next weekend!  I’m pretty excited because it will be nice for the two of us to get out and about again.  Woohoo!

One Response to “Monday, Monday”

  1. Bryan May 16, 2009 at 7:08 am #

    Hi, Erin! It’s been a while. Sounds like I have a lot of fun to look forward to. My wife is thirteen weeks pregnant. She miscarried in January so I’m still scared something may happen even though the doctor says she’s in the clear now. She’s due in November/December. I’m missing out on the irritability and cravings since I’m away at school. Then again, maybe I’m not missing out. I will get back home in October so I won’t miss the birth. Take care. -B

Leave a Reply

