Tuesday

27 Jan

I’m beginning to strongly dislike Tuesdays. Inevitably they end up being one of Andy’s 12 hour work days and then he has band practice every Tuesday night. Even if he came home after work it would really only give me about 45 minutes of baby relief since Eli goes to bed around 7:30 but it’s just something about that looooong stretch of time that seems interminable.

The rice cereal is going swimmingly with the introduction of the “We’re going to bed, here’s a bottle to keep you quiet” rice cereal bottle at 11 or so. He’s been sleeping overnight like a champ and I’m very thankful for that. His naps have been a little more challenging. The last several days he will wake up while napping and instead of falling back asleep as he usually does, he’ll yell a bit. This in itself isn’t unusual because all we have to do is go replug the binky and he’s generally right back asleep. However, he’s taken to this whole screaming bloody murder thing. You put the binky back in and instead of making his little binky nom nom nom sounds, he starts crying. So you start shushing except he doesn’t care if you’re shushing and holding the binky in, he starts crying louder. And it escalates.

I’ve been spoiled by a seriously easy baby. I don’t want him to get in the habit of being picked up if he starts screaming because he’s usually quite good at putting himself back to sleep but when he keeps going on and on and starts to become sort of hysterical, I can’t help it. I’m fairly sure he’s too young for any kind of sleep training other than just general consistency with his schedule and I don’t think at 12 weeks (tomorrow!) I would feel right about any kind of just letting him cry. What I’ve been doing is sort of shushing and holding the binky in and going back in every few minutes until he calms down so he knows I’m still there. I’ve picked him up twice in the last three days (out of probably about 4 or 5 fits) and he falls right back asleep. I only pick him up if he really starts getting upset, the gasping for air sort of crying that just breaks my heart. Luckily this hasn’t affected the nighttime sleep (yet!) but just now when I put him down for the night he started crying about 10 seconds after I put him down. Also unusual. He went right to sleep after that.

I realize that at 12 weeks you can’t really count on a schedule to stick and I am prepared to deal with that but it can be so unnerving, not knowing if you’re doing the right thing. I certainly don’t want to make his ability to sleep any WORSE but where is all this trouble coming from? Should I pick him up more than I already do? Is it mean to let him lie there and cry for a bit even if I’m right there next to him? Aaaaagggggghhhhhh I need a manual!

I also want to mention that I realize this will all be fine. Nobody gets to college still having to have their mom come in and put their binky back in so they can sleep. This is going to be temporary and just one of those things of parenthood that I have to learn but hey, that’s what this blog is for, right? Me going on and on about these sorts of things and all of you with grown children sitting back and remembering what it was like and my, aren’t you glad you get to go to bed and sleep all night? Yep.

2 Responses to “Tuesday”

  1. Lolli January 28, 2009 at 9:15 am #

    Yep!

  2. Carrie January 28, 2009 at 1:30 pm #

    Letting them cry it out is hard, and I imagine with a 12 week old it would be nearly impossible for me to handle. (Unless there was lots of wine or whiskey or beer involved!) Eli just doesn’t want you to get bored!

Leave a Reply

