Stand up, sit down!

24 Feb

I was watching the presidential address tonight and it occurred to me that one of our big games with Eli is “Stand up, sit down!” and he loves it. I just never imagined Congress liked it so much too. I wonder if they feel it in their thighs after one of those speeches?

Moving on….

Today’s Andy’s birthday. To celebrate, we went out to dinner last night at Wasabi Bistro and then to The Moore to see Andrew Bird. It was really great. June babysat again and did a terrific job, aided only by the easygoing Eli, who played then ate then went to bed like a champ and made nary a peep until Andy and I got home. Andy and I both had to work today and he has band practice tonight so it’s good we did the actual birthdaying yesterday. Will made him a funny card to give to him when he gets home from practice and I bought a cake with some candles for him. Fun stuff.

The stuff on Eli’s head (I think Andy was offended I kept referring to it as “the mange”) is gone. I didn’t expect the creams to work that quickly but they sure did. Since we want to make sure that it stays gone, we’re going to go ahead and keep putting it on there for another week or so but it’s hard to even tell where the spots were. I have a general idea of where one was because the hair (YES, THERE’S HAIR, you just can’t really see it well) on his head is a little broken in that spot so I just sort of smear it on there then cover the general area where the rest were. I’m really pleased it has resolved so quickly even though we were never quite sure what it was. I still think it was ringworm, though.

He’s got his four month check up on Monday. FOUR MONTHS! Sorry for the all caps but where, where has the time gone?

He’s ticklish in his armpits and will crack up if you tickle him there. Sharron said she was reading to him today and he was laughing at parts of the book she was reading. I’m sorry to have missed it. I keep meaning to get him on a schedule where we read to him daily but I’m having trouble figuring out where to work it in. He’s still keeping a really great schedule. He goes to bed around 7:30 every night and sleeps until we wake him up around 10:30 or so for his cereal bottle. Then he usually goes until 4:30 or 5 and Andy gives him his morning bottle (he has to get up for work about then anyway so he insists on doing that one, score!). He then sleeps through while I get ready for work and I wake him up, change him, then take him to Sharron’s or he sleeps in with Andy or me.

Work is going well. Things are picking up and I had a full day of clients today and I was on call. I’m getting the hang of this parenthood and working thing although I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t absolutely beat at the end of every day so far. I expect my stamina to improve and hope to start running with Eli this weekend if weather permits. I’m hoping that will help with my energy at the end of the day. We’ll see how things go!

2 Responses to “Stand up, sit down!”

  1. Carrie February 24, 2009 at 10:29 pm #

    Happy birthday, Andy!

  2. Erin February 24, 2009 at 10:34 pm #

    Happy birthday yourself, Carrie!

Leave a Reply

