5 months

29 Mar

Happy 5 months, Eli! Or the name you will likely never answer to: Elliott! That’s your actual name! I’m sorry I didn’t take any pictures of you on your actual month-day but I promise I’ll make up for it at six months.

We had a great time with my parents in town. Eli got a lot of hard playing and cuddling and a good time was had by all. We drove to Snoqualmie Pass and let my parents frolic in all the snow. Andy and I got a night out on the town complete with a night OUT–we got a room at the Pan Pacific Hotel and had a nice dinner at Steelhead Diner. They went back to Shreveport this morning and I have a lot of pictures to post from their visit.

We moved Eli out of the room today into his own room. I really wanted to be able to read in bed again and also be able to use our room after 7:30 at night. The fact that I walked into the footboard and bashed my thigh into it YET AGAIN in the dark last night probably has something to do with it. I’ve hit my limit as the Co-Captain of the Pacifier Reinstaller Committee and Andy and I are declaring his room a Binky Free Zone. He has a week to figure out how to put it back in himself or he’s losing it entirely this weekend. I love that boy more than anything but it’s starting to border on ridiculous.

Usually he goes down around 7:30ish and between 7:30 and his bedtime bottle (around 10:30, we wake him up to top him off before we go to bed), he’ll need anywhere from 2-254,305 pacifier replacements. It usually falls somewhere about 4 or 5. After the 10:30 bottle, he’s pretty quiet with only one or two replacements needed until he wakes up for his 5-6 AM bottle. It’s TOO much. It means we never get uninterrupted sleep, ever. I think it’s worse on him as well, since HE never gets uninterrupted sleep. That means the pacifier is doing more harm than good. According to the Ferber book, he also shouldn’t need that 5:30 AM bottle, he should be sleeping through until 7 or 8 and it’s probably more of a routine thing now than actual hunger. So once we get finished with the de-binkying, we’ll give him a bit to settle then start phasing that one out. Perhaps around 6 months since that bottle really isn’t that much of a problem. The Binky Free Zone starts this weekend since we’re both off and Andy will be available to sit on me to stop me from caving and giving MAH BAYBEE!! the binky back when he cries.

In happier news, this is one kid who likes sweet potatoes! My mom and I gave him some oatmeal yesterday and he seemed to dig on that a little but since he wasn’t that hungry, it was hard to tell how much he liked it. I popped open a jar of sweet potatoes today and after about 5-10 minutes of Eli looking quite doubtful about this whole spoon feeding thing, he went crazy for it. Complete with pinwheeling arms, grabbing my hands to shove the spoon in his mouth, and ditching the spoon altogether and trying to grab the jar out of my hands repeatedly. He literally shook in his little Bumbo, he was so happy about the sweet potatoes. He ate half the jar then I stopped him since, well, I didn’t really know what I was doing and do you just let them eat until they stop? I have no idea. Half a jar seemed like a good start. Needless to say, it was messy. Sweet potato up his nose, sweet potato on the bumbo, his pants, all over his shirt, the table, I found some on the back of the shoulder of the sweater I’m wearing. Bathtime!

One Response to “5 months”

  1. wendy March 30, 2009 at 10:28 am #

    that sweet potato story is wonderful!! 🙂 i am glad things are going so well!

Leave a Reply

