Heat Wave!

26 Jul

Oh, it is so hot here. The worst of it hasn’t even started, we’re supposed to be in the 90s for the next week and hit *gasp* 98 on Wednesday. Horrors. Our teeny little window unit is going to be put through its paces. We called around looking for portable units so we could put the small one in Eli’s room but everyone is out. I think we’re just going to try to give him later naps and try to keep him up until it starts to cool down. Our lows this week are in the low 70s so with a wide open window, he should be able to sleep in that okay. Ugh, ugh. I am a complete heat wimp. It’s no fun working in this heat since there’s no a/c at work either. It’s just hot, sweaty staff working with hot, sweaty clients and everyone complaining about how hot it is and stinking.

This is when I get smart and meet with all of my clients in the basement at work (of course, only when it is safe to do so). It’s almost bearable down there, despite the moldy smell.

In better news, I ran SIX miles today! We went to Green Lake to run and Andy took Eli duties. I ran the outer loop then switched to the inner loop and ran that. The loops are 3.2 and 2.8 miles. There was probably about a .2 section that we walked before we started running so in all honesty, I probably only ran like 5.8 but COME ON. I’m going to tell people I ran 6! I really need a watch with a mileage gauge in it. I had really only planned to try to get to 5 but I didn’t really have any idea of when I would hit 5, then about the time I figured I had well passed 5 I really was only about 15 minutes away from the end and I felt pretty good so I just decided to run it out. That last half mile was a bit rough but it was great to finish! Also, to see Andy’s face when I ran up to him and Eli and told him I ran the whole thing. He was very impressed! I wanted to try to get in a good one today since I probably will not be running as much this week with the heat. I’ll probably run a short one tomorrow after work and then I’m not planning on anything else until Friday morning when I can run early in the day. I really don’t think it would be smart to run in 95 degrees after working all day. I’m not used to that kind of heat anymore.

New video up, Eli is a silly baby who laughs at silly things. He is just amazing. So happy, so much fun, such a joy to have in our lives.

2 Responses to “Heat Wave!”

  1. wendy July 27, 2009 at 7:39 am #

    you go girl!

  2. Sue July 27, 2009 at 11:17 am #

    Hey! Congratulations on your running progress!

    And you are really talented at getting delightful giggles from a precious kid.

    You rock!

Leave a Reply

