ZS <—Eli's choice, he attacked my laptop and typed that

16 Aug

Lots of things going on here. We still haven’t enclosed the loft but we have a pretty good idea of how we’ll do it and it doesn’t involve building walls anymore. Basically we’re going to buy a whole mess of bookshelves and build Will walls out of those, specifically from the expedit line at Ikea (google it). This will serve the double function of enclosing the loft as well as giving him storage space. We’re going to secure them at the bottom and at the top so nobody will get taken out by a falling bookshelf. I’m particularly pleased with this idea since it will be something we can reuse somewhere else as opposed to time and effort that we will basically just tear down when we leave. We have to wait until Will gets back since hauling those boxes up three flights of stairs isn’t really doable for me right now.

The running isn’t happening. Almost a week ago I did something weird to my left hip and I’ve stopped in the hope that it will get better. I felt fine before the last run but almost as soon as I started it felt like a crick in my hip, something that needed to be worked out. So I ran three miles and although it didn’t get substantially worse (I did notice it seemed to worsen when I went downhill), it didn’t get better at all. After I finished running it was hard to put weight on the leg. It’s not so much that it hurts, it’s a brief, sharp shooting pain if I put weight on it but it also feels weak, like my hip is going to give out. The frustrating part is that there is NO predictability to this. If I sit, I feel fine. If I rest for a day, maybe it will still hurt, maybe it will feel fine. If I don’t rest and walk, maybe it will hurt, maybe it will feel fine. It seems to wax and wane completely independent of what I do. Yesterday it really bothered me but today it’s felt almost normal so I went to the gym and rode the stationary bike for a while. It’s felt fine most of the day but 30 minutes ago started feeling weak and pinchy when I walk. It’s got me limping and it’s really annoying (not to mention discouraging because I miss running! Who knew?). I’m going to call the doctor in the morning since I’m afraid to run on it.

Blah blah blah but what you’re really here for… Eli news! His 9 (and 1/2) month check up went great. We’ve been giving him bits of cheese and yogurt here and there with no ill effects so the doc okayed us to go ahead and switch him to whole milk in his bottles. Andy told me this and WOW the cash register sounds that went off in my head. SO! MUCH! CHEAPER! As luck would have it they just had a sale on his formula at Safeway so I had just bought two huge cans of it but that’s fine since it’ll give us time to transition him. We’ve been doing his bottles about 50/50 and there’s been a little puking here and there but I think that has a lot to do with his high level of activity as well. It’s hard to keep him still long enough after he eats to let his food settle.

Other than that, the appointment went off without a hitch. Andy said the only thing the doc asked about that Eli isn’t doing is pointing at things he wants. Although he has yet to point, he’s pretty effective at making his wishes known. He clapped, waved, smacked things together, stood up and all sorts of other things for the ped. And Eli’s a giant baby! Above the 95%tile for everything.

Since he’s now got three teeth on top and two on bottom, we’ve started broadening his horizons with different foods. We haven’t found anything he doesn’t like and so far he’s tried: steamed broccoli, carrots, cauliflower, cinnamon raisin bagels, cheese, bananas, potato salad, avocados, refried beans, scrambled eggs, and buttered toast. I bought some of those biter biscuits for him and MAN those things are gross. You would think that Gerber would make something for them to practice eating that doesn’t turn into a slimy, sodden mess. I’m glad we gave him one of those at home first because he needed a bath afterwards, his hands were slimed with cookie slime and then he started rubbing his eyes and it was all downhill from there. He still gets them but we strip him down to his diaper and put a towel on the floor first.

We just finished an awesome dinner of red beans and rice (recipe here and now I’m just going to get this entry wrapped up and some pictures uploaded. Everyone have a great week!

4 Responses to “ZS <—Eli's choice, he attacked my laptop and typed that”

  1. Lolli August 17, 2009 at 3:27 pm #

    About the biter biscuits: that’s why after the first ones ya’ll had as babies you didn’t get anymore. Not worth the mess. Tell the therapist how you were deprived.

  2. Sue August 21, 2009 at 6:56 am #

    I’m with Lolli! By the third child, I didn’t even buy those biscuits any more!

  3. Carrie August 24, 2009 at 7:27 pm #

    I never gave Camden the biter biscuits. I once watched a friend try to remove dried-on biscuit from her kid and that fixed my little red wagon right then and there!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2009 Wrap Up « oblogatory - January 3, 2010

    […] in dealing with a sometimes stubborn 1 year old. 10. Did you suffer illness or injury? Yes. I tore a muscle in my left hip and it took me out of running for 5 weeks. It was an incredible reality check for me […]

Leave a Reply

