Goals

1 Dec

Woohoo! Half marathon is DONE! All in all, it was a really amazing experience. I had planned to meet my friend there about 15 minutes before our start time but neither of us counted on how many people would be running. There were thousands of people for the half so there was absolutely no chance of finding her. It probably worked out for the best as she pretty much smoked me the entire race-she stopped for water twice and stopped for the restroom and still finished 9 minutes ahead of me.

The run was really great. The weather was PERFECT. It was about 47 degrees and no rain. Every once in a while we would get the mistiest of drizzly rain but it was really wonderful because it was a nice cool down. It was so cool running through downtown and then over the I-90 overpass, through the I-90 tunnel, then along Lake Washington. The first mile or two looked like a sea of runners going through downtown and I really wished I had brought my iPhone or the Flip to tape parts of it even if that meant I would have had to carry it the whole time. It was amazing how many people line the race route just to cheer everyone one. I gave out more high fives and got more encouragement from strangers in those 2.5 hours than I could have ever imagined. I want to do it again just for that! So great.

I was a wee bit disappointed in my time but all in all, I ran to finish and my only goal was to run the entire thing and I did that so I’m happy. I don’t really know what to do with myself now so I’ve been hassling people to sign up for the next goal with me. My friend who ran the half with me seems to be up for anything so we’re looking at doing the Big Climb in March and then potentially a triathlon in August or September. The only problem with that so far is that neither of us have bikes so we would need to solve that issue. We are also on the fence about doing a sprint triathlon (.5 mile swim, 16 mi ride, 3.2 run) or a half Iron Man (man, it’s just a lot, it’s got a half marathon at the END of it and I think about 60 miles of riding). I think it’s pretty likely we’ll do the sprint first. I’m also trying to talk people into doing the half marathon for the Rock n Roll race in June.

Everything is going well at home. It’s startling how much Eli is capable of understanding. The other day I asked, “Are you ready for your nap?” and to my surprise he nodded. Then he walked back to his room and stood by his crib. He’s done it several times since then and it’s about the cutest thing ever. He also tried to take off his jacket the other day when I asked him if he wanted it off. I’ve been taking him for walks outside and he had a rough day Saturday. He fell on his face on the sidewalk and scraped his upper lip and cheek up pretty good. Then a few hours later I unbuckled him from his high chair then turned to grab a towel and he did the fastest nosedive ever and got a huge bruise and lump on his forehead. He recovered quickly from both injuries and even kept walking after he fell although I couldn’t let him walk much more after the scrape. His face was partially covered with blood and I felt like a billboard for Bad Parent letting him walk around like that.

2 Responses to “Goals”

  1. Sue December 2, 2009 at 11:12 pm #

    Congratulations on a great race! Quite an accomplishment.

    The angle on that picture makes it appear that Eli’s head is about the same size as yours! You are right — he is so big!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2009 Wrap Up « oblogatory - January 3, 2010

    […] dates from 2009 will remain etched upon your memory, and why? My baby’s first birthday. My half-marathon. Various date nights with Andy. The whole first year of life with a child feels monumental because […]

Leave a Reply

