Holidays

15 Dec

I got back from Shreveport around 5 PM on Sunday. I am so thankful that I got to go. It was amazing to get to spend time with Wendy and Carrie Saturday night. It’s amazing how you can go so long without seeing people in person then once we were all together, things just felt so comfortable. I never would have thought it had been 3 or 4 years since we were all together. It felt like yesterday. Old friends are the best!

I returned to an apartment that functioned very well without me. I think everyone here got along so well it left me a little sad. Not that I expected that Andy couldn’t handle things but coming back was a sort of non-event, my child just sort of smiled when he saw me and it took until today for him to warm back up to me in earnest. Today was the first day he offered lots of kisses to me, since i got back if I asked for one he would turn his head or scowl at me. Perhaps he was angry? Who knows.

Unfortunately Will didn’t hold up his end of the bargain so he’s out of the Cascades. He did rather poorly on a math test so Andy had to follow through with the consequence. I hope that Will gets it, he seems to mostly blame Andy for it rather than take a look at his own work ethic (I’ve reminded him to go study about 4 times tonight and he still keeps putting it off) so hopefully this is a lesson that will sink in. I hate hate hate it for him and I know Andy feels positively sick over it but what do you do? It’s only his first year of eligibility so we’ve been encouraging him to work hard and he can do it next year so we’ll see. Teenagers are hard.

My parents and brother and sister-in-law are coming Saturday and I am EXCITED! It will be so good for them to see Eli again and spend time with him and us. I’m off all next week and so looking forward to their visit.

I promised myself I would go to bed early tonight (by 10) so I need to get ready to hit the sack. I managed to get a childcare slot at the gym tomorrow after work so I get to go running there. I hope to do 3 miles then as much on the weights as possible before I run out of time. It’ll be good to work out, I’ve felt sluggish lately and I think a lot of that is that I haven’t run really at all since the half. Good night!

Leave a comment