Happy New Year!

30 Dec

Almost. It’s not until tomorrow night but I’ll start my celebrating tonight since Andy and I are off together tomorrow and he works the whole weekend starting Friday. It’s our first day off together in a few weeks and the only one until next weekend so I’m going to enjoy it.

My family’s visit up here went great. My mother is on the fence about whether to stick with Lolly or Yaya since every time we asked Eli to say Lolly, Yaya came out. It was pretty cute stuff. It took him a little while to warm up but overall he was his usual lovable self. Toward the end he started getting a little crabby which we initially attributed to over-stimulation but I think it had more to do with a biiiiiiig molar that was coming in because he was still crabby after they left and only returned to his usual charming self after several doses of Motrin and Tylenol. I went back to work the Monday after they left on Saturday night and have been doing since.

Andy did propose on Christmas Eve and gave me a ring! It’s absolutely gorgeous and although I did have a hand in picking out the setting, I hadn’t known he had finally gotten the center stone selected and gotten it. I just love it (and him) to pieces and I can’t stop staring at it. I have to go get it sized and also some work done to the sides of the ring as there’s a rough edge on one side and it’s rubbing a raw spot on my pinkie. I’m going to drop it off tomorrow at the jeweler’s after I take it to State Farm to finish the insurance paperwork on it. I’m so thankful to have such wonderful people in my life now.

This weekend Eli and I have a busy weekend of not a lot. I’ve got to get the ring done and switch out some boots at Nordstrom (I do need a half size bigger after all). Will will be mourning the end of his Christmas vacation and the impending return to school. I got him a cookie cookbook for Christmas and he made some really great ginger molasses cookies and he has been obsessed about making fudge lately so I sense that is coming in our future. I used a bit of my Christmas bonus from work to buy the EA Active Trainer for my Wii so I can work off some of all these cookies Will keeps making and I’m trying to find a race in February to sign up for so I’ll start running regularly again. I’ve done about 10 miles in the last week and a half and that’s not really a lot, particularly when you put it against how many cookies I’ve had.

I hope everyone likes the Will and Eli pictures–we do have 8X10s to send and those will be in the mail soon. Since the Santa picture was a bit of a debacle we decided to take matters into our own hands for a Christmas picture and took that in the living room. Pretty sweet stuff!

One Response to “Happy New Year!”

  1. Sue December 31, 2009 at 11:01 am #

    The portrait of the boys is great! Handsome subjects — talented photographer.

    Congratulations and best wishes! We are thrilled!

Leave a Reply

