2009 Wrap Up

2 Jan

It took me a few extra days to get this up. I completely ripped the idea from this blog. I’m still working on finishing all the links in the post.

1. What did you do in 2009 that you’d never done before?
I ran a half-marathon! I never before thought that I would be able to run 13.1 miles before. It took a lot of work and dedication but the mental and physical pay off is incredible.
2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I don’t really make resolutions. I did comment to Andy that I want to challenge myself more in the coming year and do things that make me nervous because it’s putting me outside my comfort zone. I’d like to do a triathlon, maybe run another half or two, and I also need to study and get my licensure done. I’d like to make some decisions regarding my career and my goals around that.
3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Carrie! This will really be the last year I can say that!
4. Did anyone close to you die?
Wendy’s dad died at the end of the year. Through the kindness of Carrie and Blake, I was able to go home for the funeral and although it was wonderful to see Wen, Hill, Jason and other Mother again, I would have preferred different circumstances. Terrible stuff.
5. What countries did you visit?
The countries of Finally A Full Night of Sleep and No I’m Not Eating That, I Don’t Care If I Liked it Five Minutes Ago. The first was lovely to visit, the second gets old pretty quickly. I hope to visit a different country in 2010 when Andy and I finally get to take a vacation!
6. What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009?
Patience. Acceptance. The ability to think before I react (I have to say I am getting better at that).
7. What dates from 2009 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
My baby’s first birthday. My half-marathon. Various date nights with Andy. The whole first year of life with a child feels monumental because they’re changing just so much and so fast. When he first slept an 11 hour stretch. When we de-binkied Eli. When he ate his first foods, first teeth, crawling, and his first stumbling steps. His first head wound. The first of A LOT of head wounds to follow.
8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Definitely the half-marathon. I knew I had it in me but it was challenging to train on my own. It took a lot of talking myself out of being lazy and not to be all Nike but just DOING it. Pushing myself because I didn’t have anyone else to hold me accountable and I didn’t want to be left inside my head if I skipped runs or wussed out.
9. What was your biggest failure?
I had some less than stellar parenting moments, usually involving a very wee baby, 4 AM and not a lot of sleep. There was a lot of crying and a lot of begging the baby to just please SLEEP already. It was a real education on my part. Now my challenges are mostly patience in dealing with a sometimes stubborn 1 year old.
10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Yes. I tore a muscle in my left hip and it took me out of running for 5 weeks. It was an incredible reality check for me in that I’ve been lucky for the most part to escape serious illness or injury and this actually prevented me from doing what I wanted to do. It was incredibly frustrating and humbling to be knocked down like that and unable to even walk well, let alone run. It taught me a lot about proper training and not pushing myself too hard.
11. What was the best thing you bought?
My Forerunner 405. My iPhone 3GS (for the video uploads!).
12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
Andy, for amazing patience with me and his optimism. Eli, for being the best baby. Will, for being such an awesome help to me, a great brother to Eli, and just a really cool kid.
13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
Sometimes me for reading the stupid celebrity gossip pages. Mostly the people who run celebrity gossip pages though.
14. Where did most of your money go?
Rent, daycare, car payments, student loans.
15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Eli turning one! My parents visiting, every single time they visited. My runs because they allowed me a break and a chance to clear my head. Massages, when I remember to schedule them. Andy letting me sleep past 7:30 AM.
16. What song will always remind you of 2009?
Willie Nelson’s greatest hits because Eli and I play that the most. He loves some Willie.
17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder? happier
b) thinner or fatter? thinner because I ditched the baby weight
c) richer or poorer? richer
18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Hiking, getting outside during the summer, baby or no. I think I used Eli as an excuse to not do a lot of things because it would be a hassle to cart all the stuff, kid, etc around. It was an excuse to be lazy and I’m sorry I did it.
19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Sitting awake at night thinking of everything I need to do. Curse of the case manager. Planning to do stuff instead of just doing. Sitting on my laptop instead of being productive (with the exception of blog posts, of course).
20. How did you spend Christmas?
My family visited Seattle and we spent it with them. It was awesome.
21. Did you fall in love in 2009?
Daily. Constantly. Have you seen my fiance and child? They’re gorgeous!
22. What was your favorite TV program?
Well, I watch Lost because I’ve watched it for so long I have to see how it ends. However, Will and I watch Biggest Loser every week, it’s our Thing. I’ll have to go with that.
23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
I got no time to hate.
24. What was the best book you read?
I can never remember what I read. I’m reading Born To Run right now and it’s pretty amazing. Oh, I did read some FABULOUS Sherman Alexie–Ten Little Indians (shorts) was so incredible and Flight was really good too.
25. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Regina Spektor is pretty cool. Lester Young is quite amazing.
26. What did you want and get?
An engagement ring. I got to get engaged to Andy.
27. What did you want and not get?
I even took a break to eat dinner and think about this one. I can’t think of anything. How wonderful is that?
28. What was your favorite film of this year?
Away We Go was a great movie. I wish I could say I’d seen a lot of movies but I tend to fall asleep during movie rentals these days.
29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I turned 35. Andy and I had a night on the town with dinner and a hotel room. It was awesome, except for the drunks waking us up at 3 AM yelling at their drunken friends to open their door. The dangers of staying downtown never cease.
30. What’s the one thing that made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Air conditioning. It might have not been needed the whole year but it sure came through when it counted.
31. What kept you sane?
Running, good friends, great family, a comfortable bed.
32. What political issue stirred you the most?
The state of funding for social programs in Washington state is dire. Universal health care.
33. Who did you miss?
My parents. My brother. Oscar. My faraway friends, Megan, Carrie, Wendy.
34. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2009.
You become what you expect of yourself. I’ve always told clients that but this year I think it really sunk in.
35. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
Oh, I can never think of these things. I’ll mull it over and come back to this one.

Leave a Reply

