Speed of light

16 Jan

Ok, not the speed of light but less than 10 minute miles! My friend and I ran the Magnuson 10K today and we posted some awesome times. If you click on that link you can see the splits and the map of the run we did. The times are good for her and probably about her usual but they are FANTASTIC for me. It goes without saying that the speed was hard for me through parts of it and I sort of felt like I was going to die at points but hey, I made it! No walking, we ran the entire route. 10K is 6.2 miles so it’s not the longest run I’ve done (we did 7 miles last weekend but it was all flat so a little easier) but it is a good maintenance run. It also had a substantial hill in the middle of the loop and was muddy and kind of trail like so it was a little more difficult than just a flat paved run. The times are about 1:15min/mile faster than I ran during the half. I’ve been doing a lot of cross training via Jillian Michaels’ DVD workouts and also the EA Active we bought for the Wii for the past few weeks and what a difference!

I’ve been very very bad about taking pictures lately. I have a few here and there but nothing like my usual amount. I haven’t even been taking any videos. I did take this one yesterday so it’s something:

Eli starts daycare in a few weeks and I’m trying to work out schedules. It’s going to be a bit of a nightmare between Andy’s work, paying for three days a week of care, and my work. I’m going to have to take some weeks that are three day work weeks and I already feel the pinch working four days a week in that there’s not enough time to get everything done so this is definitely going to take some getting used to. I’m going to try to keep any days off to a minimum because it feels like I am constantly behind. I’m hoping that more often than not we can just pay for the extra day whenever we need it but if not, it means taking Eli to/from daycare on top of 10 hour days to cram all my hours into three days. Not fun! Oh well, I am fortunate to have such problems! I’m really thankful that work is so flexible and I can do this. I realize not everyone is so lucky.

Andy and Will are flying home for a quick trip for his parents’ 50th anniversary this weekend. Between my work, finances, and the brevity of the trip we decided Eli and I should stay here. I’m sorry I will be missing it but I know they will have a good time and it’ll give Andy and Will some time on their own. His brother is coming in town Thursday night and staying here then they are all going to the airport Friday. Andy works nights all this week and then will be gone Friday-Monday so it looks like I’m going to be getting the experience of a (somewhat) single parent! I’ve started making a few (nice) threats to friends for help and babysitting over the next week.

Tonight Will is at a friend’s birthday party and Andy and I are having a nice dinner and watching a movie. I’m a little beat from the race this morning so it sounds like a perfect night to me! Geaux Saints!

Leave a Reply

