Where did March go?

23 Mar

Blink and you miss it….

Things continue along swimmingly in the Smith-Massey household. Eli’s speech is getting more prolific (although not necessarily more comprehensible) every day. Today he went up most of the stairs holding the hand rail with one hand and the other on the wall to balance himself. He finally went up the stairs standing and not crawling up them like he’s done in the past. He’s also very determined to get down stairs the same way and will insist he hold your hand and the rail with the other hand as he goes down.

He will be 17 months in just a few days and sometimes I get a small taste of what the terrible twos must be like. He’s very opinionated these days and things like hunger or fatigue REALLY reduce his frustration tolerance to almost nothing. The days of sort of pushing our ability to get a lot of things done before we stop for food are over because he will let us have it. We tried to squish a grocery shopping trip in the other night before we gave him dinner and that was by far the most torturous grocery store experience in my life.

He screamed when we put him in the cart. He wants to walk ALL THE TIME now but that’s not really possible in stores because you won’t get anything done, you’ll just spend the entire time chasing the two foot tornado around. So we crammed him in the cart anyway and he continued yelling on and off. Finally he tried climbing out of it and lost. his. mind. Andy put him on the ground and he just laid down in the middle of the aisle screaming like he was having his wee little nails pulled out. He was blocking some older man’s cart and Andy started to pick him him to get him out of the way. The older man said, “Don’t touch him! As soon as you pick him up, you’ve lost the war! Leave him there!” It was pretty funny and helped a very embarrassing situation. I was beet red and burning up since Eli was just really going nuts. I ended up grabbing him off the floor and going to the car where I strapped him in his car seat (which he REALLY hates) and we sat in the car while Andy finished shopping. I did find some goldfish crackers which sort of placated him but it was not a fun trip. I carted him out while carrying him sideways (he kept wriggling out of a lot of holds) while he just screamed like a maniac. People were giving me the “What is wrong with your kid?” looks and I just wanted the earth to swallow me up. FUN TIMES!

Needless to say, we got him home, fed him and he was all sweetness and light again. Lesson learned. Bad parents.

I did the Big Climb and it was fine. I think my friend and I really overtrained. It’s not that it was easy but it was nowhere as bad as I expected it to be. I’m definitely doing the Seattle Rock n’ Roll half marathon in July and I’m contemplating doing another in mid-May. I can’t decide. I hate this period after I finish a goal because I never know what to do next. I’m tired of running so I’ve been doing boot camp and kickboxing classes at the gym to stay in shape and get some cross training in. I’ll probably start running again regularly next week but it’s been a nice break.

Andy’s parents are coming in town this Friday and we are all excited for that. It’s particularly good timing since Eli’s daycare is closed next week for Spring Break and Andy took a few days off anyway to stay home with him. We’re looking forward to their visit!

More pictures coming soon. I’m taking tonight off, after the Big Climb Sunday and boot camp last night, I feel like a zombie. Just wanted to do a quick update because I saw it had been a while 🙂

One Response to “Where did March go?”

  1. Judy Mize March 26, 2010 at 3:49 pm #

    I bet most of the people watching you carry Eli out of the store were thinking,”Jeez, I’m glad past that stage”. Anyone who has children has probably had a similar experience. They tend to act up in places where they instinctively know they have you at a disadvantage. Keep your chin up, you will survive it and so will Eli.

Leave a Reply

