Lately

3 May

Lately we’ve all been very busy. When I sit and try to think of something to write about or I think “I should update the blog”, I can’t really think of anything very interesting to say. So much of time is just filled with the minutiae of day to day things, the in the stroller out of the stroller in the bath out of the bath pjs dinner time OH NO YOU DID NOT no hitting no hitting did you hear me i said no hitting what does the lion say? RAWR! sort of things. It doesn’t make for particularly thrilling blog entries and it’s hard to think of the specifics when I get the rare combination of (1) a stretch of uninterrupted time and (2) the inclination to post.

Will’s signed up for the SAT on June 5th. I’m going to pick him up a prep book this Friday. It’s in Bremerton which is a ferry ride away since it was the last spot available for that test date which is the last test date until fall. Procrastinate much? His grades have still mostly been on this side of good so that’s going well. Overall, there’s definite improvement and it seems to be coming from HIM instead of us riding him to study all the time. Along with the good grades come socializing opportunities for him and he’s spent Friday night at his friend’s house for the past few weekends with a group of kids. I like to think that he is making the connection between studying = I get to do stuff as well as a general more improved home life. He’s hitting the gym 3 times a week or so and although he’s losing a bit too much weight (skinny kid!) he’s getting some impressive arms on him. We’re going to do our best to fatten him up a bit and make up for all that working out.

Andy is doing well, still has band practice weekly, his present band is going to be ending in the summer since the main guy is moving. He’s decided to work on his music on his own and instead take his one “me” night for fencing and look into fencing clubs around here to join. I think it’s a great idea, he talks about fencing a lot and really seems to miss it.

I’m good, usually a little on the tired side but I suppose that’s to be expected. I’m presently toying with the idea of running a full marathon in November and I’m scared to sign up. Once I sign up, I’m committed to it, I know how I operate. So although I’ve said a few times to people I will sign up, I still haven’t. I need to just do it. I have a feeling that it will always nag at me if I don’t do it. I know I can. So I really should, if for no other reason than to be done with it. It’s an accomplishment, right?

Eli’s glorious, as usual. He’s a little too into hitting me lately because mostly he only hits ME. Not quite sure what to do about it, I’ve tried ignoring it and he just hits me more until he gets a reaction. I put him in time out but the kid is so easily entertained that when I tell him, “If you hit Mommy again, you’ll get a time out. We don’t hit” he’ll immediately hit me again then hold out his hand so I can walk him to his time out. Then he’ll sit there and just sort of bounce and talk to himself and give me a big smile when I come to get him. They say to do one minute of time out for each year and I’ve just let him sit there for up to two and a half minutes before he finally got up to see what was going on. He seems entertained by time outs. This doesn’t bode well for his teenage years. He’s very willful, he doesn’t want to hold anybody’s hand crossing the street, he wants to do most things on his own and although he likes helping others, he doesn’t really ever want help. At this point he can still usually be distracted by songs or playing “what does X animal say?” although depending on the situation, it doesn’t always work. I’ve learned sometimes I just have to let him meltdown and once he calms down I can work with him again. It’s made for some pretty loud afternoons as it seems to happen most often after he wakes up.

This motherhood gig is so hard sometimes. I want someone to sort of beam in when I’m confused and say, “Yes! You are doing the RIGHT THING! Your child will no doubt be the most well adjusted child to ever walk the face of the earth!” but that is unlikely to happen. I guess at this point all I can do is the best I can by him and hope for the best and that one day, he understands.

One Response to “Lately”

  1. Martha May 4, 2010 at 2:53 pm #

    Hey Sug,
    The last paragraph is the definition of motherhood. We all want what is best for our children but we’re rarely ever sure what that is. That’s why they give us one day a year.
    HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY!
    Love
    Mom

Leave a Reply

