Another first.

24 Oct

Today Eli called my mother. On the phone. I was nowhere around. He was sitting in the recliner playing his animal sounds/colors app on my phone and I went to sneak in the bedroom while Andy was sleeping (he’s on nights) to get stuff out to shower up in the other bathroom. I heard Eli talking in the other room but didn’t think that was a big deal–kid talks all the time. Then he started walking in my room and I told him to be quiet but then noticed he was talking into the phone and saying, “Lolly”. It was on the phone screen and it said, “MARTHA MASSEY”. I was totally surprised. I hit speaker on the phone and lo and behold, my mom was chatting up Eli. She thought I called her and handed the phone to him but I had nothing to do with it! She said when she answered he said, “Hi Lolly”. I’m guessing he just got into my favorites or recents list and hit one and then the picture of Lolly popped up so he sort of “knew” who he was calling. I was shocked, my parents were laughing and Eli was totally nonchalant about the whole thing. “Did you call Lolly this morning and say hi?” “oh, yeah, Mommy. Eli call Lolly.” I’m wondering if I should start checking my bank accounts and credit cards because no telling what else the kid knows how to do. He saw my debit card last week and pointed and said, “Money!” and I have NO idea where he got that.

It was a fun weekend. It was a sad weekend for Louisiana football, that’s for sure! Today Eli and I were very domestic and we made chicken stock (he supervised), blueberry muffins (he helped pour the flour out and provided moral support from his perch on his stool), and chicken tacos for dinner. We walked to the store and got poured on a little but it was worth it because the weather was pretty nasty today so it was nice to get any outdoor activity in. Eli was starting to be a little too wound up from all in the indoors. This week should be busy–I’m doing a half day tomorrow so Andy can get a little bit of rest in the morning before he goes on baby duty. I’ve also got boxing tomorrow and I’m going to try to do that class probably Thursday as well.

Friday is the big 2 for you know who and it should be a fairly low key day. Andy works that day and should get off around 6:45 that night. There’s a Halloween party at the daycare on E’s birthday and we’ll go to that at 5 for a little while and then probably go for some Mexican (Eli’s favorite) and then have a little cake and presents at home once Andy gets off work. Saturday is the Pumpkin Push 5K and I still haven’t made up my mind if I’m going to do it. On Sunday I’m taking Eli trick or treating on Market Street since the whole street closes down for a big Halloween party in Ballard with tons of kids and candy and fun. It’s sad Andy will be working but I was going to see if I can find anyone to go with me.

Random weekend videos. Silly stuff:

Eli is very into burying me lately. Not sure how to take this. I woke up from a nap with three pillows on top of me and a ball and his foam sword placed around me. Yesterday we were playing and I told him I was going to go to sleep and got on the floor. He started bringing all of his toys from his toy basket to place around me and on me, leaving my face uncovered. Once he was done he said, “Close eyes, Mommy.” Once I did that he patted my cheek and said, “Fast asleep. Fast asleep.” I think he thinks I need toys for my nap. Maybe he’s suggesting HE would like some toys in his crib. Hmmm.

Ok, I realize making jumping off furniture a game is probably just buying me all sorts of trouble but nobody’s perfect and some people are pretty darn cute:

One Response to “Another first.”

  1. Marcie November 17, 2010 at 12:52 pm #

    I love it. One, six….JUMP!

Leave a Reply

