2010 Wrap Up

31 Dec

We’ve got round 2 of Eli Detox going on although with a lot less vigor and righteous indignation that he had last night. Only 8 minutes in and there’s already been a few moments of silence. Ah, jinx. There he goes.

(I should update this now to say that I finished this the next night and he cried for an hour last night. Tonight, he cried for about a minute before falling asleep. I think we’re finally over the hump. Anyway, on to what I started last night)

In any case, I will distract myself with the same meme as last year:

*edited to add that YouTube won’t let me link music videos directly. In both cases, if you just click on the link to youtube, you can hear the songs. They’re both really, really worth it. Great stuff.

1. What did you do in 2010 that you’d never done before?
I ran a 10K and all miles were sub 10 minute paces. I climbed 1,311 stairs in the Columbia Tower in about 17 minutes. I signed up for a full marathon! And then I broke my ankle. I went to Kauai! I learned how to box (sort of).

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
Last year: “I want to challenge myself more in the coming year and do things that make me nervous because it’s putting me outside my comfort zone. I’d like to do a triathlon, maybe run another half or two, and I also need to study and get my licensure done. I’d like to make some decisions regarding my career and my goals around that.”

I’ve been a little pathetic on that. I was on pace to do some more physically challenging things and then I broke the ankle in boot camp and that took me out of anything resembling athleticism until September. I procrastinated on my licensure although I did get authorized to sit for it and I have registered for it. I just haven’t actually set the date yet. I plan to take the test by the summer at the latest. My work goals are up in the air. I do know that my time where I am is limited and the question largely remains do I just take some time off to reassess my career path or do I find something else and immediately launch into that. A lot of the time I feel like I just sort of found myself in this job, in this career, and I don’t really know why I’m in it or why I’m in it. I’d like to figure out something that excites me, something that makes me excited about work, even if it’s not what I’m currently doing.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Carrie! Oh wait, Carrie didn’t give birth this year. Weird. No, nobody I was close to gave birth in 2010.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
No, thank goodness.

5. What countries did you visit?
No new countries but we did go to Kauai, Hawaii and WOW. I never would have thought I’d be a beach vacation sort of person but it was truly awesome.

6. What would you like to have in 2011 that you lacked in 2010?
Patience. Acceptance. The ability to let things go and just be. The ability to be present.

7. What dates from 2010 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
June 14th–the broken ankle. I’d never broken anything before and it really threw me for a loop. Suddenly finding myself dependent upon so many people when I usually try to be the doer and the fixer and the organizer really threw me into a funk for a while. It was a good lesson in being able to ask for and accept help. September–I went to Vegas with two of my oldest best friends and we had a great time and saw The Pixies. Never would I have imagined 20 years ago the three of us would be going to a Pixies show in our 30s. Crazy how things turn out.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
It sounds pretty lame but my first 5K after the ankle break. It felt so nice and like I had finally gotten through it and that everything was going to get back to normal eventually.

9. What was your biggest failure?
Impatience. I tend to react before I listen, I tend to react defensively without reason.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Yup. Already covered that.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
A vacation. We didn’t really have any big “we bought this” things this year. We were gifted some camera lenses which really helped the pictures but the vacation and the time alone was the best thing we could have spent our money on.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
Andy, for amazing patience with me and his optimism. Eli, for being the best toddler. Will, for being such an awesome help to me, a great brother to Eli, and just a really cool kid.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
Just the whole country. I don’t want to go all political here so I won’t but man, I don’t know how much more I can take.

14. Where did most of your money go?
Rent, daycare, car payments, student loans.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Our vacation! Every time Eli gets to see his family and I get to see them interact with him and build those relationships. It’s completely amazing and I understand things about family I don’t think I was able to before.

16. What song will always remind you of 2010?
The Black Keys song “Tighten Up”

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder? happier
b) thinner or fatter? probably a wee bit fatter, stupid ankle.
c) richer or poorer? richer

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Making the most of my time while I was laid up. I had endless amounts of free time and mostly what I did was watch television. Oh well. I wish I had found productive hobbies.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Being too chicken to do the things I need to do. Worrying that I’m going to spend way too much time fretting over what might happen and end up missing opportunities to make some effective change.

20. How did you spend Christmas?
We flew to Louisiana and spent it with our families.

21. Did you fall in love in 2010?
I fell in love with a two year old who is even more awesome than the one year old version.

22. What was your favorite TV program?
I finally finished Lost and although that was a cop out finale, it was a good last season. Got hooked on The Walking Dead for six whole episodes. Love love love 30 Rock. Watching Friday Night Lights now.

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
I got no time to hate. (same as last year)

24. What was the best book you read?
What I Talk About When I Talk About Running by Haruki Murakami.

25. What was your greatest musical discovery?
The Black Keys! Thanks, Eli. Edward Sharpe.

(It should be noted that at this point Eli has finally passed out, 52 minutes into it and I’m going to continue this tomorrow night.)

26. What did you want and get?
Quick healing. As much as I hated the immobility of the broken ankle, it did provide me a bit of a break. Enough of a break to really realize that I need to stop whining because I don’t do well with that much of a break!

27. What did you want and not get?
Probably a house in a great neighborhood with a small yard. Not that we tried to get one but the older Eli gets, the more I regret daily that we didn’t plan and save enough already to be able to make that happen. Parks and whatnot surely make up for a good bit of the lack and a small apartment is surely easier to clean though!

28. What was your favorite film of this year?
Some bad horror movies just because they were fun to watch with Will and June for our movie nights. Zombieland was super fun. I didn’t seem to see a lot of “deep” movies this year since when there was time to watch movies, I just wanted to relax.

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
This is the beauty of this blog–I couldn’t really remember what I did for my birthday at first but look! I blogged it so I don’t need to. I’m thirty-six now. It was a great birthday and a great (although challenging) year.

30. What’s the one thing that made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Finding such a great daycare for Eli with people who are as invested in his learning and well-being as we are. It’s eased my mind in so many ways.

31. What kept you sane?
Running, good friends, great family, a comfortable bed. (same as last year)

32. What political issue stirred you the most?
The ridiculousness of social service funding. I can’t think about it much without feeling a bit out of control and lost, especially lately.

33. Who did you miss?
My parents. My brother. Oscar. My faraway friends, Megan, Carrie, Wendy. (same as last year)

34. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2010.
People are there to help each other. Let them. There is no shame in asking for help.

35. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
“Ahh, home
Let me come Home
Home is whenever I’m with you”

I sing this to Eli quite a lot and we dance to it in the car and at home. Whenever I hear it, I think of my boys. Life can’t get much better.

Leave a Reply

