Catching up

29 Sep

Really, it’s the iPad’s fault. I need to (1) clean out my laptop which is a multi-step process involving (a) backing it up (b) dumping the camera –1150 images– on it and then backing it up AGAIN, hopefully it will only take one time to back up but it might take two dumps to get everything off it and then (c) wiping it clean and reinstalling everything which is really only the OS. Hopefully at that point it will run pretty nicely and not gripe at me every time I want to start it from sleep. In any case, she’s still obviously on her last legs and this is all just measures meant to prolong the inevitable. I should probably get the keyboard dock for the iPad in order to update the blog more but I often wonder who really reads this anyway? And then I rationalize myself out of the cost for the keyboard dock in favor of other things.

Things are great here! We had a string of guests–Matt and Rachael (moved from Shreveport, here for 8 days), a week later my parents (here for one week, gone a week, here a week) and then my friend Megan (here a week). Two days after Meg’s departure we hosted our first party here (I am slow and we never had a housewarming), a baby shower for our dear friend Emily. We had about 20-25 people in here at once! Although I thought at one point during the shower I really needed a larger house, I was so pleased that we could provide the space for it and the shower went so well.

Eli is wonderful, as usual. As we near 3 he has less moments of 2 (although not as much of a reduction as I would like) but he is more inclined to be humored out of his “NO!” moods than he was before. Whether this is a temporary shift in mood or just maturation, I have no idea and I’m not holding my breath that it’s a permanent change. He tests his boundaries, always. For this, I am thankful. He’s a normal boy and an independent one at that. I love seeing him stretch his independence, no matter how frustrating it is to me at the time. For as many “NO” moods as he gets into, there are just as many sweet and loving moods and that more than makes up for it.

He was intimidated by all of the people here for the shower–it took a while for him to warm up since he basically woke up from his nap with his house packed. Once he adjusted, he was fine and played in his room with all of the other toddler boys that attended (there has been a streak of boys at my work–no girl babies to speak of). Once the house emptied and things quieted down, Eli and I agreed that we were both very tired and we should order pizza for dinner and watch the Lion King for the evening. I told him how proud I was of him for his good behavior during the shower. He put his head on my lap, let out a big sigh and said, “I love you, Mommy”. If only I could bottle a feeling!

I’m running the Run the Bluff 8K next weekend and looking forward to it. I was going to run the 5K with a friend but she has dropped out so I decided to do the 8K instead. Might as well make it a workout! I will do the half marathon at the end of November instead of the full since my running buddy decided against doing the full and really, I’m just not that dedicated to train for a full by myself and that’s okay. It’s so bizarre to think that I am SETTLING for ONLY RUNNING 13 MILES. What kind of weird thinking is that, that 13 miles doesn’t really count? It’s dumb what your head will do to you!

Andy’s been on nights all week and I am so looking forward to having him home over the weekend. It’ll be a nice slow weekend for us, something we’ve all been looking forward to for a while. Will was hired on for a permanent job at the UW lab and his hours are now 11-7 and he really seems to enjoy it and rides his bike to work every day. I’m so glad he’s getting so much use out of it! Things are going swimmingly here and I couldn’t ask for anything else. I am a very lucky girl, indeed!

One Response to “Catching up”

  1. Papa September 30, 2011 at 4:19 am #

    Erin, PLEASE keep this blog going! I’m not on facebook yet, so, unless Sue updates me on the Smith-Massey household, I kinda loose touch.
    I’m delighted with how swimmingly things are going with y’all in the “new” house. It sounds like it has gotten a true warming with all of the company and the party. Family and freinds! THAT is life at its best!
    Love to all.
    Papa

Leave a Reply

