2012

31 Dec

Today’s post brought to you by iPad keyboard! Think my mom is dropping hints? What about the idea that three different people were going to get me a keyboard? In any case, it’s nice to have one.

Tim, Jocelyn, Erin, and Nathan just left this morning after a trip up here. They stayed with Jocelyn’s parents for a few days then came to Seattle and stayed with us. Erin and Eli got along as famously as ever and although he’s 99% okay, he’s pining a little bit for her. I think right now he’s just too tired for anything. We did a ton while they were here–the aquarium, lots of eating out, the Hyak Sno Park–hopefully they will send us some good pictures because I forgot the camera for the Sno Park.

Eli and I are just taking it easy today, lots of movies and staying curled up on the couch–I think we’re both pretty tired from what was a pretty fun week.

In lieu of original thought, I figured I would do the Q&A from the last few years for consistency’s sake!

I just noticed that I did this meme on last New Year’s Eve as well. This either means I am rather timely or I have no life. It’s Andy’s fault, he keeps picking up OT shifts on NYE.

1. What did you do in 2011 that you’d never done before?
Hmm. I have no idea. Wow, maybe nothing new? That’s kind of sad. I gave Andy a sailing lesson as a present so we went sailing. Granted, it was February and SNOWING but it was fun all the same. I even steered for about .5 seconds. I’m fine at assisting but I’d rather not be in charge, thanks.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
Two years ago: “I want to challenge myself more in the coming year and do things that make me nervous because it’s putting me outside my comfort zone. I’d like to do a triathlon, maybe run another half or two, and I also need to study and get my licensure done. I’d like to make some decisions regarding my career and my goals around that.”

I didn’t do much on any of these goals last year. I did another half in July this year and improved my time. Although I haven’t done many races, I feel like a much stronger runner and I am a lot faster. I passed my test and was licensed in June, woohoo! No real decisions about my career other than it’s time to leave my job and there’s some work around that going on and you’ll know more in coming months.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
My friend Emily had a baby boy, Nicholas, in November. Christine had a baby boy, Oscar, in January. It’s a baby explosion around here.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
No, thank goodness.

5. What countries did you visit?
I think for future iterations I’m going to change this question to “What vacations did you take?” because let’s face it, with a young child, I’m not going out of the country anytime soon. I also want to make it a point to take more breaks, even if it’s just camping in the forest or driving to Oregon and renting a hotel for the weekend with the family–little trips here and there to look forward to and enjoy that don’t necessarily require gobs of money, planning, and time.

6. What would you like to have in 2012 that you lacked in 2011?
I’d like to be more mindful in the future and learn how to shut my brain down some.

7. What dates from 2011 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
Eli’s third birthday. He finally got the idea behind presents this year and seeing his excitement at presents was just too great!

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Passing the license exam! I was very nervous about that test.

9. What was your biggest failure?
Less than stellar parenting moments during which I just get way too frustrated and yell or just react really poorly. I am way more susceptible when I’m tired so I try to stay aware of that.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Nothing significant, thank goodness.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
The iPad. Everything that moving into a house entailed. Yard equipment! We got a lot of family time out of working on the yard. My treadmill!

12. Where did most of your money go?
Rent, daycare, car payments, the house.

13. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
I got pretty excited about living in a house again. I was also pretty excited about Christmas since Eli gets it now and was pretty excited himself!

14. What song will always remind you of 2011?
ELO “Don’t Bring Me Down” An oldie but a goodie, Eli and I jam out to some ELO in the car.

15. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder? happier
b) thinner or fatter? probably about the same.
c) richer or poorer? richer

16. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Making the most of my time. Cultivating hobbies. I dabble in redoing furniture here and there but now that I have the garage space, I really have no excuse not to finally get a few projects done.

17. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Being too lazy to do the things I need to do. I’ve fallen into the trap of zoning out when Eli goes to bed even though there are a lot of (enjoyable) things I could get done between 8 and 10.

18. How did you spend Christmas?
We spent it at our house in Seattle and friends came over for Christmas dinner.

19. Did you fall in love in 2011?
Not with anyone new, nope.

20. What was your favorite TV program?
The Walking Dead, Up All Night, Parenthood, American Horror Story.

21. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
I got no time to hate. (same as last year)

22. What was the best book you read?
The Hunger Games trilogy was a mighty fine set of books. Quick reads but very fun.

23. What was your greatest musical discovery?
I’m not the music discoverer, Andy is. I pretty much listen to whatever he puts on.

24. What did you want and get?
Probably go with the iPad on this one.

25. What did you want and not get?
At this point, a kid who will get out of his own bed! I know everyone says to be careful what you wish for but it’s been 6 months now and he STILL will not get out of bed unless we come get him. It makes potty training awfully hard, you know? I think we’re just going to have to fly without a net and lose the pullups for sleep since that might make him get up. He still will just play in bed for an hour or more even if he hears people up and about, just waiting for someone to open his door. So weird.

26. What was your favorite film of this year?
Crazy Stupid Love was hilarious.

27. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
Not a lot–just dinner out the weekend before. We had just finished the move so we were pretty tired from all of that. I turned 37.

28. What’s the one thing that made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Netflix streaming.

29. What kept you sane?
Running, good friends, great family, a comfortable bed. (same as last year)

30. What political issue stirred you the most?
Congress is making me want to go stick my head in the sand. It’s embarrassing.

31. Who did you miss?
My parents. My brother. Oscar. My faraway friends, Megan, Carrie, Wendy. (same as last year)

32. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2011.
Same thing I tell my clients–if you’re feeling on edge, run the list: HALT-Hungry? Angry? Lonely? Tired? See how you’ve been treating yourself lately and pay attention to what you need to. It stops a lot of bad moods before they start.

33. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
Oh, I’m terrible at this one.

2 Responses to “2012”

  1. Lolli January 2, 2012 at 7:39 am #

    We miss you too. The keyboard was an entirely selfish gift, but obviously it works. Love you baby girl.

  2. wendy spies January 7, 2012 at 9:15 pm #

    awe 🙂 shucks. i miss you too!!

Leave a Reply

