18 weeks and counting

23 Feb

No news is good news.  Physically, I’m doing fine, nothing to report.  Everyone at work seems to be both excited for me and sad that I’m leaving and I think that’s about as good as it’s going to get.  No real issues with fatigue or any other symptoms, I had a day or two this week of nausea and dizziness and general digestive ick but I’m inclined to blame that on a bug rather than pregnancy.  About the only thing I’ve consistently noticed is that my skin seems to hate me lately, I’m all dry skin and blotchy with breakouts–there’s some sort of injustice to this, just at a time you’re feeling sort of physically ungainly and abnormal, your skin decides to relive it’s teenage years–so I decided to order some insanely expensive skincare products that will take care of it.  It’s a line I’ve tried before and I LOVED it but could never justify the expense. I thought about it for a while and figured I earned a splurge in one area.

Eli’s doing great.  He’s going on night 8 of dry pull ups and I think we’re almost ready to try just underwear at night.  He’s been in underwear for naps for weeks now.  He’s been on a nap rebellion this week at BP which is odd as he had mostly gone back to regular naps.  I wonder if it’s not that thing of advancement in one area (dry at night) means a regression in another (no naps).  Who knows?  It’ll work itself out.  If he doesn’t nap, he doesn’t get to watch any TV at night and gets an early bedtime–not so much punishment as preserving my own sanity.  With no nap he can be downright cranky in the evening and introducing TV into the mix just guarantees a battle when it’s time to turn it off.  It’s also less stimulating so he’s usually nicer when he’s had no sleep.  AND it’s incentive for him to try to nap since he knows no nap=no TV show.  He’s allowed two TV shows at night–about 45 min total.  He gets one show in the morning while I get ready IF he gets up, uses the potty, and gets himself dressed without my having to nag him to do it. So that’s about 1-1.5 hour a day, assuming he’s on model behavior?  Gah, that’s a lot.  Clearly I am a terrible mother.

His favorite movie lately is Monsters, Inc.  His favorite colors are orange and purple.  He wears a 5T (or 5/6, pretty much out of toddler sizes, sniff) in shirts and a 4T in pants.  He is on a campaign to get me to paint his room orange and purple.  He will eat broccoli until he explodes and last week requested steamed broccoli, raw carrots, crackers, and cheese for dinner for several nights in a row.  He’s excited about our garden for the summer and has been suggesting vegetables to plant (broccoli and carrots).  I need to get out there and get the plots ready before I am too large and in charge to do it.

Tomorrow is Andy’s birthday.  He’s at fencing tonight and works nights all weekend so we won’t be seeing much of him until next Monday.  Andy will sleep in while Eli and I go to the play gym at a yoga studio (I meet up with a few friends with kids here on Friday mornings) and then the three of us will go for a nice birthday lunch when he wakes up.  The rest of the weekend is usual house stuff, Mike will probably come over for a movie and dinner night, maybe Eli and I will go to brunch with friends.

That’s all for now!

2 Responses to “18 weeks and counting”

  1. ruffelles February 24, 2012 at 12:25 am #

    we’re on similar schedules – i’m 17.5 weeks ❤

  2. Marcie February 29, 2012 at 4:51 pm #

    Hi Erin! I loved reading the latest blog posts today. Your descriptions of Eli’s day-to-day doings and developmental changes are fun. I do that stuff all day long and I really enjoy it. You are such a STELLAR mom. I hope this pregnancy continues to go smoothly and that your energy level is good. Give yourself and the boys a hug for me.
    M

Leave a Reply

