Archive | 5:04 pm

Note to self:

5 Apr

You’re going to have to sleep sack break him at some point. Jeeeeeeez.

He slept great last night. 8 PM – 7 AM with no bottles. He woke up several times and cried for a minute here and there, enough to wake me up but not long enough for anyone to actually get up. I also noticed that the times corresponded with when he was usually given a bottle (several wake ups between 10:30 and 11:30 PM, another one around 4 and 5 AM). He went back to sleep quickly each time. His morning nap was great, no crying to speak of and it again was around an hour and fifteen minutes.

We took advantage of the awesome weather (65 and sunny!) to go for a long walk to buy him some new clothes, grab lunch, and go down to the Locks for some pictures. We made it for the first two stops but by the time we got to the Locks, it was starting to eat into naptime, he was getting crabby, so we decided to come on home.

Now, this could have been a function of him being overtired rather than a sleep sack addiction but Andy woke him when he got him out of his stroller since he had slept about the last 10 minutes of the walk home. He then gave him a bottle and put him down. Kid LOST. HIS. MIND. I noticed in the monitor that Andy put him down in his clothes and not his sleep sack but I really didn’t think much of it. On with the Ferbering. 5 minutes, 10 minutes, 15 minutes, another 15 minutes, and ANOTHER 10 minutes (I broke, I admit it) and I went in there and put him in his sleep sack just because I didn’t know what else to do. He fell asleep before I even got out of the room.

He screamed (and I mean that hysterical AAAGHHHH-AAGGHHH-AGGGHHH screaming) for 55 minutes straight–and I do mean straight and fell asleep within 30 seconds of being put in his sack. What say you? Overtired and he finally gave up or he just needed his sleep sack because that’s what he’s used to?